Preferences dialog box

How to get there

  • Choose Finale > Preferences.

Or,

What it does

Noteman says: When you install a new version of Finale on your computer, Finale preferences are not copied from the previous version. To migrate these settings, see To migrate settings and support files from one version of Finale to another.

The Preferences dialog box lets you configure Finale’s program-wide settings. Click a category on the left to see its corresponding options appear on the right side of this dialog box. For example, click the Save category to specify whether to save your preferences automatically when you exit Finale, or only when you explicitly use the Save Preferences command. You can make as many changes as you like before returning to your score by pressing the Apply button when you have finished changing the settings for any category. The settings in this dialog box are saved in the com.makemusic.Finale.plist file (in your Preferences folder).

  • Reset All Preferences • Apply • Cancel • OK. Click Reset All Preferences to revert your Finale preferences to Finale's default state. Click OK (or press enter) to save the new settings and return to the document. Click Cancel and you will be prompted to save or discard changes that have not been applied. Click Apply to save the selected changes in your dialog box and keep the Preferences box open.

See also:

Ranges

Leave feedback on this topic
Finale for Mac

7007 Winchester Circle, Suite 140

Boulder, CO 80301

Copyright and trademarks