Share dialog box

How to get there

  • Choose File > Share.

What it does

With Finale’s sharing features, you can upload your music to SmartMusic, where it can be easily accessed by performers, students, or anyone else for efficient practice and collaboration. You can also upload changes, stop sharing, and delete your music from SmartMusic’s Content Manager app without leaving Finale.

  • Username or Email. Use this field to enter the username or email address that is associated with your SmartMusic account.
  • Password. Use this field to enter the password associated with your account.
  • Forgot Password. If you have forgotten your SmartMusic account password, clicking this button will take you to the forgot password page on smartmusic.com. There, you can enter your username or email address to reset your password.
  • Login. Click this button after entering your SmartMusic credentials to sign in.
  • Dont' Have a SmartMusic Account? Click this button for more information on what a SmartMusic account is and how to create one.
  • Read more about our terms and conditions and privacy policy.Click on one of these links to access the corresponding information on the MakeMusic website.

  • Share Privately. Click this button to share your music with specific recipients.
  • Create a Public Link Click this button to create a URL that can be used by anyone who has the link to access your music.
  • Upload Only. Click this button to upload your music to SmartMusic’s Content manager app without sharing it.
  • Logout Click this button to log out of your SmartMusic account, returning you to the login page.

When you choose Share Privately, you must enter the email addresses of the recipients you would like to share your music with. You can enter multiple email addresses separated by a space or a comma.

Before sharing or creating a private link for your music, you must answer two questions:

  • Yes • No Select one of these options to allow or deny your recipients the ability to download a PDF of your shared music.
  • I Confirm. This option must be checked before sharing your music as a confirmation that you have the legal authority to share the content you are uploading. Click the Terms of Service button to view SmartMusic’s terms and conditions, which include information about User Content rights and restrictions.

Finale must match the instruments in your Finale document to the list of available instruments in SmartMusic. On this page, you can edit any of the automatically-mapped SmartMusic instruments by clicking the individual instrument to be changed and selecting a new option from the dropdown menu

  • Finale Part. This column contains the instrument names for all of your parts as they are listed in the Instrument column of the ScoreManager’s Instrument List.
  • SmartMusic Instrument. This column represents the Practice app equivalent for the corresponding Finale Part. If there is not an equivalent instrument, the closest approximation is listed or “Generic Instrument” is used.

The Share dialog box indicates that your music has been uploaded to the Content Manager app in SmartMusic and has been shared with the specified recipients.

  • View in SmartMusic. Click this button to go to your music in the Practice app.
  • Done. Click this button to close the dialog box.

After your music has been shared either privately or with a public link, the Share dialog box allows you to make changes to your music’s shared state.

  • Update Music. If your document has been changed since it was last shared, click this button to update the version in the Content Manager app with your changes.
  • Stop Sharing. Click this button to revoke access for all individual recipients that previously had access or to disable the public link to your music.
  • Content Manager. Click this button to open SmartMusic’s Content Manager app with information about your uploaded music.

Tip: Be aware that if you have used a shared document as an assignment template in SmartMusic, you cannot update the uploaded version.

If your music has been uploaded to the Content Manager without being shared, the Share dialog box gives you several options.

  • Share. Click this button to share your music with specified recipients or by creating a public link.
  • Update. Click this button to update the version in the Content Manager app with your changes.
  • Delete Music. Click this option to remove the uploaded music from SmartMusic’s Content Manager app.

Tip: Be aware that if you have used a shared document as an assignment template in SmartMusic, you cannot update the uploaded version.

See also:

Sharing Music